1803 – First Settlement in Tasmania was made by Lieutenant Bowen, who conveyed the worst of the New South Wales convicts to the mouth of the Derwent.

1803 – David Collins (formerly Judge-Advocate of NSW), after visiting Port Phillip, also landed convicts on the Derwent. He also founded Hobart Town.

1804 – Colonel Paterson made a convict settlement at Port Dalrymple.

1810 – Governor David Collins dies very suddenly.

1813 – Governor Thomas DaveyGovernor Thomas Davey was very careless but under him the colony prospered and the ports were opened to ordinary ships.

1807 – New Norfolk on the Derwent was founded by the convicts brought from Norfolk Island. Bushrangers in Tasmania were numerous, owing to the frequency of escapes from convict stations.

1817 – Governor Sorrell repressed bushranging. On account of this, and from the visits of whaling vessels, the prosperity of the colony increased.

1824 – Governor Sorrell is replaced by Governor George Authur. Tasmania’s Separation from New South Wales was followed, in 1829, by the appointment of a Legislative Council.