(previous … Governor George Arthur)

In 1825 Tasmania cut dependency ties to New South Wales by becoming a separate colony, with a Supreme Court of its own. In 1829 it received its first legislative body, fifteen gentlemen being appointed to consult with the Governor and make laws for the colony. In the following years, the history of Tasmania became a simple account of quiet industry and steady progress. Hobart Town, by degrees, grew into a fine city, with handsome buildings and well-kept streets. The country districts were fenced in and well-tilled, good roads and bridges were built and everything looked prosperous.

Need of Currency

The only serious difficulty was the want of coins for the ordinary purpose of trade. So great was the scarcity of gold and silver money, that pieces of paper, with promises to pay a certain sum, perhaps a sixpence or shilling, were largely used in the colony, in place of money (rum was virtually  Sydney Colony’s currency).

Governor George Arthur Leaves Colony

At the request of Governor Arthur, coins to the value of a hundred thousand pounds were sent out from England for the use by the colonists. Governor Arthur’s period of office expired in 1836 and left the colony, much to the regret of the colonists. He was succeeded by Sir John Franklin, the famous voyager.

(continues … NSW 1808 to 1837)